So Here I am, On Here.

Coming from a small town in southern Connecticut, I would have never imagined moving to a ‘‘big city’’ like Orange, California, let alone create a blog on the internet! The idea of living at a University after living in the woods of Connecticut for most of my life seemed unappealing or almost impossible to me. A few months later I made the decision to pull into Chapman University, and since then I have come face to face with opportunities the backwoods of Connecticut would have never offered.

Arriving at Chapman, I knew that I was fortunate enough to have the chance to learn new things that I would have never been exposed to without going to college. I have never been a fan of writing essays or reading long and boring books but when I saw “Writing About Food” in the course list during registration, I knew it was a perfect way to explore writing in a more appealing way.

I have always had a hard time with writing, and I am hoping by the end of this journey I will be a more fluent writer. Writing about a topic that I find interesting, like food, will definitely help me reach my goal and make it a much more painless process. From observing food eaters, to family recipes, to group workshops, I think it is inevitable that with the hard work I plan on putting into this class will not only improve my writing skills, but broaden my horizons to the new environment I am living in.

By the end of the 15 weeks in my ‘big city school’, I see myself as a writer with the ability to write more creatively in a more clear and concise fashion. I plan on taking full advantage of the opportunity to take a course like “Writing about Food” by using it as a way to explore my new southern California surroundings.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment